September 11 set for ward poll run-off ZEC

zecHerald Reporter
THE Zimbabwe Electoral Commission has established nine polling station for voting in run-off elections for three local authority wards where candidates scored equal votes in the harmonised elections on July 31.
The run-off will be held on September 11 after candidates who contested in the July 31 harmonised elections garnered equal votes.
The run-off will be in respect of Kadoma Municipality ward 4 (Mashonaland West), Kusile Rural District Council ward 5 (Matebeleland North) and Mutasa Rural District Council ward 30 (Manicaland).

The new Constitution stipulates that where there is an equality of votes, a run-off should be held unlike in the past where candidates drew lots or tossed a coin to break the tie. Zec said the polling stations would open at 7am and close at 7pm.

“Notice is hereby given in terms of Section 51 (3) of the Electoral Act [Chapter 2:13] that the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission has identified polling stations where voting will place on the 11th of September, 2013 in Ward 30 of Mutasa RDC, Ward 4 of Kadoma Municipality and ward 5 of Kusile RDC where candidates received an equality of votes,” Zec said.

In Kadoma, voting will take place at Mabanana Creche and Rimuka number 4 Ground, while in Mutasa the polling stations are Matendere Secondary School, Pimai Primary School and Rumbizi Rest Camp.

For Kusile RDC, the elections will take place at Esibombo, Msewele, Kana and Sinqobile primary schools.
In Kadoma ward 4, Cde Godfrey Mamvura (Zanu-PF) will battle it out against Mr Fastmore Mandipota (MDC-T) after polling 545 votes apiece, while in Kusile RDC Zanu-PF candidate Cde Soneni Tshuma and MDC-T’s Ubunene Ncube garnered 419 votes each.

In Mutasa, the run-off became necessary after Cde William Ketero of Zanu-PF and Mr Elias Kembo (MDC-T) received 692 votes each.
Zanu-PF routed the MDC-T in local authority elections, sweeping 1 493 out of 1 951 wards that were at stake.

The MDC-T got 442 wards, while MDC got 14 wards. Dr Dumiso Dabengwa’s Zapu got one ward.
Zimbabwe has 1 958 and some of the wards were won by Zanu-PF uncontested.

You Might Also Like


Take our Survey

We value your opinion! Take a moment to complete our survey