Tribunal to probe suspended Chitungwiza councillors Speaking at a recent International Organisation for Migration workshop for disaster risk management practitioners from across Sadc in Victoria Falls, Local Government and Public Works Minister, July Moyo, said different Government teams were on the ground working on spatial planning for the relocation areas.

Yeukai Karengezeka-Herald Correspondent

A five-member tribunal team has been appointed by the Central Government to investigate issues that led to the suspension of six Chitungwiza councillors last month.

The tribunal will be chaired by Advocate Rachael Chibaya (chairperson), Public Service Commissioner Ozious Hove (member) and Local Government’s principal administrative officer Mr Leonard Gopoza, Mrs Hamandishe Chinyengetere and corporate lawyer Mrs Hilda Ndawana (all secretariat).

The councillors have since been notified of the development and are waiting to be advised of the date they should appear before the tribunal.

According to the letter dated 14 November 2022 directed to one the tribunal members:

“Pursuant to the suspension of the above councillors for Chitungwiza Municipality in terms of section 114A of the Local Government laws Amendment of 2016, I hereby appoint you as a member of a tribunal to look into allegations of misconduct leveled against the councillors.”

The six councillors are former mayor Lovemore Maiko, former deputy mayor Musa Makweza ward (19), Kudakwashe Johns (ward 21), Chengetai Nyagondo (ward 14), Richard Chamutsa (ward 5) and Peter Matiringe(ward 10).

They convened an illegal meeting last month in which Maiko was illegally re-elected mayor despite a pending court case.

Local Government and Public Works Minister July Moyo said there were reasonable grounds suspecting that the councillors committed acts of gross misconduct, gross incompetence and wilful violation of the law.

You Might Also Like