Costa on the defensive

LIVERPOOL. — Controversial Chelsea striker Diego Costa insisted yesterday that he did not bite the neck of Gareth Barry during his team’s 2-0 FA Cup quarter-final defeat at Everton on Saturday.

The fiery Chelsea star was shown a second yellow card by referee Michael Oliver after 84 minutes following an altercation with the Everton midfielder in which he moved his head towards his opponent and appeared to place his mouth on his neck in an attempted bite.

However, Costa was adamant that there was no foul play after a defeat which effectively ended Chelsea’s season.

“Diego spoke to club officials after the game and expressed regret over his reaction to the challenge from Gareth Barry that led to his red card,” said a Chelsea statement.

“But Diego was also very clear that he did not bite him at any point during that altercation.”

To add to the late drama at Goodison Park, Barry was also booked in the flashpoint and received a second yellow card of his own in the dying minutes after fouling Cesc Fabregas.

And Barry has jumped to the defence of Costa by revealing the Chelsea star did not bite him.

Costa buried his head into the Everton midfielder’s neck during the Goodison Park side’s 2-0 victory in the FA Cup.

It appeared as though the Spain international was attempting to sink his teeth into Barry and he was dismissed for the incident after referee Oliver showed him a second yellow card.

But Barry, who was sent off as well soon after for a second bookable offence, has backed Costa’s claim that he wasn’t bitten.

He posted on social media app Fanzai: “Seen a lot of talk about the incident involving me and Diego Costa in the game last night. For the record he did not bite me.” — AFP.

Pin It
  • TEAM MANCHESTER

    SUAREZ IN THE MAKING, VAMPIRE DIARIES VOL. 2 KKKKKKK