Yaya for BBC award


LONDON. — The five-man shortlist for the BBC African Footballer of the Year 2014 has been revealed. Title holder Yaya Toure has been nominated for the sixth consecutive year, along with Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Yacine Brahimi, Vincent Enyeama and Gervinho. The winner will be decided by fans of African football, who have until 8pm on Monday, November 24 to vote for their choice. The winner will be announced on December 1. Four of the nominees played at this summer’s World Cup in Brazil, where for the first time in the tournament’s history two African sides made it out of the group phase. Goalkeeper Enyeama played in the last 16 of the tournament with Nigeria, while Brahimi reached the same stage with Algeria.

Previous winners of BBC African Footballer of the Year award

2013 — Yaya Toure (Manchester City & Cote d’lvoire)

2012 — Chris Katongo (Henan Construction & Zambia)

2011 — Andre Ayew (Marseille & Ghana)

2010 — Asamoah Gyan (Sunderland & Ghana)

2009 — Didier Drogba (Chelsea & Ivory Coast)

2008 — Mohamed Aboutrika (Al Ahly & Egypt)

2007 — Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal & Togo)

2006 — Michael Essien (Chelsea & Ghana)

2005 — Mohamed Barakat (Al Ahly & Egypt)

2004 — Jay-Jay Okocha (Bolton & Nigeria)

2003 — Jay-Jay Okocha (Bolton & Nigeria)

2002 — El Hadji Diouf (Liverpool & Senegal)

2001 — Sammy Kuffour (Bayern Munich & Ghana)

2000 — Patrick Mboma (Parma & Cameroon) — BBC Sport.

Share This: