Breaking News

WHO warns against lockdown easing

The World Health Organisation (WHO) has warned of accelerated transmission of Covid-19, as countries ease lockdown ...

Get breaking news alerts.
Don't miss a thing.

Plans afoot to honour Zim top achievers

16 Nov, 2019 - 00:11 0 Views

The Herald

Bernard Muchemwa Correspondent

HIGH-RIDING Zimbabweans in all spheres are set to be feted at a glittering event on November 23 at the prestigious Inter-continental Hotel in Sydney, Australia.

The glamorous event is rotated in the main cities. The first edition was hosted in Adelaide, followed by Melbourne and now Sydney is garlanded. The Zimbabwe Achievers Awards (ZAA) is the pinnacle of celebration of talent, art, business, expression and achievement in the Zimbabwean community throughout a very broad spectrum of genres.

The award is held across the globe to celebrate decorated personalities in the Diaspora and this November, the highly ranked award giving body is in Australia where hundreds of Zimbabweans from all walks of life are expected to flood the venue starting from 5pm.

A sumptuous three-course meal will be served, and imbibers are tickled too with ever flowing ice cold beverages; and serenaded by melodious Zimbabwean renditions of classy acclaim.

All the who is who of Zimbabweans in Australia are expected, including A-listers, like David Peacock, a rugby prodigy, who is a shining beacon in international rugby with the Australia national team – the Wallabies.

Peacock has added glistering feathers to the game and Zimbabwe by captaining the Australian national team.

He won the John Eales Medal in 2010 – the highest honour in Australian Rugby. He has followed in the footsteps of another living legend George Musarurwa Gregan, who has Zimbabwean roots, by captaining the Australia rugby team.

Country Director Method Mukundu will once again be at the forefront of the third ZAA edition at the five-star hotel.

This year’s event in Australia will be hosted by a top DJ and Socialite, Obey Chingorivo, who announced the nominees live last week.

“It’s such a great honour to host such a prestigious event,” he said. “An event that recognises excellence in our community, an event that showcases the pride of Zimbabwe.”

The following categories will be contested for and members of the public are tasked with voting for their favourite personality, with the winner in each category being announce at the gathering.

Female entrepreneur of the year award

Stephyne Chido Chisvo & Florence Chisvo

Blessing Chabvamurambo

Lucky Ngoshi

Leanne Majuru

Christina Muchenagumbo

Media personality of the year award

Tendayi Ganga

Tatenda MusemburI

Noma Mbereko

Dj Ras George

Kim Renee (Wadyahwata)

Community organisation of the year award

Zimbabwe Multicultural Community Radio

Born to Shine Women’s Organisation

Spirit of Africa Townsville

The Single Mother Foundation

Australia Business Council Community champion of the year award–female

Thembie Ndlovu

Liz Bokani Pasipanodya

Kupakwashe Matangira

Ruth Pasi Magodo

Tendayi Ganga

Community champion of the year award — Male

Sam Sebenzo

Tawanda Karasa

John Shumba

Tafadzwa Irvine Nzenza

Jon Chabvamurambo

 Young achiever of the year award

Mango Twins

Fortune R

Takunda Muzondiwa

Assiel Mafuriranwa

Takunda Chipangura

Sports personality of the year award

Benard Muchemwa

David Pocock

T Zihori

Joice Mada Takaidza

 People’s choice award

Joice Mada Takaidza

Michelle Majuru

DJ Terry Moyaz

Tracey Nyatsanza

Farai Katiyo

Music artist of the year award

Simba Mushete

Farai Katiyo

Frederick Mutswagiwa

Carmoflage Rose

Mabasa Ziyambi

 Event of the year award

ZimOz Summer Festival

Townsville African Festival 2019

Glow Up for Change by Special Moments

Best of Both Worlds Tour by Millennium Promotion Professional of the year award

Renny Chivunga

Phibeon Muranganwa

Susan Vivian Mutami

Chido Manoah

Tecla Mururi Masunda

Male entrepreneur of the year award

Gift Mathe

Theophilus Mutsigwa

Hebias Mafungate

Clemence Shingirai Danha

Tobias Mahohoma

Business organisation of the year award

Elroi Furniture and Designs

House of Planx

The Wealth Edge Group Pvt Ltd

Rumbie &Co

HCM Legal

Share This:

Sponsored Links