Zim golfers impress in Safari Tour opener

01 Oct, 2021 - 00:10 0 Views
Zim golfers impress in Safari Tour opener FLYING HIGH . . . Zimbabwean professional golfer, Robson Chinhoi, got his 2021/2022 Safari Tour campaign off to a promising start in Nairobi, Kenya, on Wednesday

The Herald

ZIMBABWEAN professional golfers, Robson Chinhoi and Visitor Mapwanya, got their 2021/2022 Safari Tour campaign off to a promising start.

They finished in a tie for fifth, in the opening event of the season, at the par 72 Sigona Golf Club course in Nairobi, Kenya, on Wednesday.

Chinhoi, who won three times on the Safari Tour last season, closed with a two-under par round of 70 as he improved with each round having carded 74, 72 and 70 in the first three rounds.

His tournament total of two under two-under par 286 saw him finish tied for fifth position, alongside his compatriot and close friend Mapwanya, who recently moved to the Kenya-based circuit, from the West African Tour.

Mapwanya also finished solidly, after a slow start, by carding 69 in the final round, after earlier rounds of 74, 71 and 72.

The other Zimbabwean in the field, Tafadzwa Mpofu, finished in 14th position, on his Safari Tour debut, after carding rounds of 69, 74, 79 and 73.

This week’s opening event, which teed off on Sunday, attracted a field of 63 players from several African countries.

The players were drawn from Uganda, Zimbabwe, Nigeria, Rwanda, Zambia, Malawi and host country Kenya.

The tournament was won by Kenyan junior golfer Taimur Malik, who beat home professional Mohit Mediratta in the second hole of the play-off, to claim the title.

The 17-year-old Malik from Muthaiga Golf Club, who was the only amateur player to make the second round cut, shot a course record round of seven under par 65 in the final round.

It enabled him to catch up with Mediratta and Vet Lab Sports Club’s Edwin Mudanyi, on four under par total of 284, which saw the three go for a play-off.

The final leaderboard – Top 8

Taimur Malik (A) 73, 73, 73, 65= 284

Edwin Mudanyi 76, 72, 64, 72= 284

Mohit Mediratta 70, 67, 71, 76= 284

Samuel Njoroge 71, 76, 67, 71= 285

Visitor Mpwanya(Zim) 74, 71, 72, 69= 286

Robson Chinhoi (Zim) 74, 72, 70, 70= 286

Erick Ooko 74, 71, 74, 70= 289

Simon Ngige 70, 73, 74, 73=290

Dismas Indiza 72, 72, 73, 73= 290. — Zimsportlive.

Share This:

Sponsored Links