Zec scouts for commissioners


Bulawayo Bureau
The Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) is scouting for six new commissioners ahead of the expiry of the tenure of the incumbents.

This was said by the Parliament of Zimbabwe’s Committee of Standing Rules and Orders in a statement yesterday.

The serving commissioners’ term of office expires on March 31. According to the committee, a commissioner who served for a single term is eligible for re-election.

“The Committee of Standing Rules and Orders is hereby calling on the public to nominate persons to be considered for appointment to the ZEC. Current commissioners whose terms are expiring on 31 March 2016 and who have served one six year term are eligible to be nominated for one further term as provided for in section 238(5) of the constitution of Zimbabwe,” reads the statement.

The new commissioners will be replacing ZEC’s vice chairperson Joyce Kazembe, Daniel Chigaru, Theophilus Gambe, Petty Makoni, Sibongile Ndhlovu and Bessie Nhandara, who were appointed in March 2010.

The new commissioners will join ZEC’s chairperson, Justice Rita Makarau who was appointed in 2013 and commissioners Qhubani Moyo and Emmanuel Magade, 2015 appointees.

Duties of ZEC include preparing, conducting and supervising the country’s public elections.

The statement says that the commission is supposed to ensure that elections are conducted efficiently, freely, fairly, transparently and in accordance with the law.

ZEC commissioners, reads the statement, are supposed to be people of integrity.

“Members of the ZEC must be Zimbabwean citizens and chosen for their integrity and experience and for their competence in the conduct of affairs in the public or private sector,” reads the statement.

Members of Parliament, councillors, civil servants and parastatal employees are not eligible for the posts while politicians will have to quit politics for them to join ZEC.

Share This: