Togarepi ‘booted out’

08 Mar, 2016 - 00:03 0 Views

The Herald

Zvamaida Murwira Senior Reporter
tHE Zanu-PF Youth League last night “passed a vote of no confidence” in its secretary and Politburo member Cde Pupurai Togarepi and two other senior officials in the wing.

Two members of the executive, who also had votes of no confidence passed against them were Cdes Lewis Mathuthu; secretary for administration and, his deputy Sibongile Sibanda.

The revolutionary youth wing’s deputy secretary, Cde Kudzi Chipanga, confirmed the development last night.

“Zanu-PF Youth league executive met and passed a vote of no confidence against Cdes Togarepi, Mathuthu and Sibanda. Our department’s information department will give full details regarding the decision tomorrow,” said Cde Chipanga.

He declined to elaborate the reasons for the vote of no confidence, saying the wing’s information department was preparing a statement. Asked about the legal basis of the league in passing a vote of no confidence in Cde Togarepi, who was appointed in that portfolio by President Mugabe, Cde Chipanga said: “I am merely telling you what has happened in our meeting. Our information department will prepare a full statement for the media tomorrow on those issues.”

On who had chaired the meeting, Cde Chipanga said: “Cde Togarepi chaired the meeting but later left and handed over to Cde Chipanga.”

But sources within the wing said the league’s decision was premised on the failure by Cde Togarepi to rein in his son, Gabriel of ZILIWACO Trust, who was recently expelled from the party alongside other youth leaders during last week’s Politburo meeting for disrespecting President Mugabe and First Lady Amai Grace Mugabe.

Those expelled were: Godfrey Tsenengamu (Mashonaland Central), Godfrey Gomwe (Harare), Vengai Musengi (Mashonaland West), Kumbulani Mpofu (Bulawayo), Edmore Samambwa (Midlands), Tamuka Nyoni (Matabeleland North), Washington Nkomo (Matabeleland South).

Gabriel (Togarepi) was expelled together with seven other youth leaders representing various associations aligned to Zanu-PF.

These included: Tonderai Chidawu (ZICOSU), Norest Makururu (Youth in Mining), Collin Machingura (Youth in Farming), Memory Masengu (Youth Against Sanctions), Absolom Madusiri (Youth Service Graduates) and Innocent Mhlanga (Children of War Veterans).

When contacted for comment last night Cde Togarepi said: “I am an appointee of the President and I am not authorised to issue a statement unless His Excellency has authorised me to do so. Only the President is the one who can decide my fate. At the moment, I do not know anything about what you are asking me about,” said Cde Togarepi before referring further questions to Zanu-PF secretary for Information and Publicity Cde Simon Khaya-Moyo.

Cde Khaya-Moyo said he had not been briefed about the meeting.

“Somebody has called me asking me about the same issue. Frankly, I have not been briefed about that. Get in touch with me tomorrow (today), maybe I would have full information,” said Cde Khaya-Moyo.

The National Disciplinary Committee chaired by Vice President Phelekezela Mphoko is expected to consider the vote of no confidence in due course.

Share This:

Sponsored Links