Sports Reporter
ZIMBABWE’s biggest threat at the African Nations Championship finals in the group stages could come from Morocco after the Atlas Lions named a squad dominated by players from crack side Raja Casablanca.
The Casablanca side reached the final of the Fifa Club World Cup after a fairy-tale run but lost in the big game to European champions Bayern Munich.

The North Africans are in Group B at the CHAN tournament where they will take on the Warriors, Burkina Faso and Uganda.
Ian Gorowa’s charges, who trooped back into camp yesterday after breaking for the New Year’s holiday, will open their account with a game against Morocco at Athlone Stadium in Cape Town on January 12.

Gorowa has already named his 23-man squad in which he kept faith with the bulk of the players who had done duty during the qualifying round matches.

Although all the teams in the Group B — Zimbabwe, Morocco, Uganda and Burkina Faso — are aiming to book a place in the next round, it is the Atlas Lions who pose the biggest threat to the Warriors.

Seven players from Raja Casablanca have found places in Richard Taoussi’s squad.
Morocco are participating for the first time in the competition reserved for home-based African footballers, while Zimbabwe are making their third appearance in as many editions of the competition.

Taoussi chose Raja Casablanca’s goalkeeper Khalid El Askri and defenders Zakaria El Hachimi, Adil Karrouchy and Mohamed Ouhaj.
Raja, who reached the final of the Fifa Club World Cup last month, also provided Isaam Erraki, Mohsine Moutaouali and Mohissine Iajour while their rivals Wydad Casablanca have five players.

Meanwhile, Zimbabwe’ other Group B rivals Uganda, beat Mauritania 3-0 in an international friendly in Kampala on Thursday night.
Brian Majwega, Savio Kabugo and Francias Olaki scored second half goals to hand Micho Sredojevic’s side a boost ahead of the CAHN tournament.

Zimbabwe will be hoping for a positive result in a friendly against Gabon on Tuesday in Johannesburg.

Morocco Squad
Goalkeepers: Nadir Lamyaghri (WAC), Mohamed El Youssfi (MAT), Khalid El Askri (Raja)
Defenders : Adil Sasaa (DHJ), Zakaria El Hachimi (Raja), Mohamed Aberhoun (MAT), Mohamed Saidi (WAC), Mohamed Oulhaj (Raja), Ahmed Chagou (DHJ), Adil Karrouchy (Raja)
Midfielders: Anas Asbahi (WAC), Issam Erraki (Raja), Said Fettah (WAC), Abderrahim Achchakir (AS FAR), Mohsine Moutaouali (Raja), Walid Karti (WAC), Abdessamad El Mbarki (CRA), Zyed Kerrouch (MAT), Rafik Abdessamad (OCS)
Forwards: Zakaria Hadraf (DHJ), Mouhssine Iajour (Raja), Brahim El Bahri (FUS), Abdelkabir El Ouady (WAF)

You Might Also Like