Pycroft to officiate at ICC U-19 World Cup


DUBAI. – The ICC has announced the match officials for the upcoming ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2016, to be held from January 27 to February 14 in Bangladesh with Zimbabwe’s Andy Pycroft (pictured above) among the panel of match referees.

Pycroft of the Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees along with Devdas Govindjee and Graeme La Brooy from the ICC Regional Referees Panel will be the match referees for the tournament, while the on-field umpires will be drawn from the International Panel of ICC Umpires, and the ICC Associate and Affiliate Panel of International Umpires.

International panel umpires include Ahmad Shahab, Ahsan Raza, Anisur Rahman, Gregory Brathwaite, Chettithody Shamshuddin, Enamul Hoque Moni, Robert Bailey, Nigel Duguid, Adrian Holdstock, Mick Martell, Jeremiah Matibiri, Phillip Jones, Tim Robinson, Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Langton Rusere, Raveendra Wimalasiri and Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid.

The only umpire from the Associate and Affiliate panel is Ian Ramage.

Chettithody Shamshuddin and Tim Robinson will be the on-field umpires for the tournament opener between hosts Bangladesh and defending champions South Africa to be played at the Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on Wednesday, January 27.

Phillip Jones will be the TV umpires, while Graeme La Brooy will be the match referee.

On the same day at the MA Aziz Stadium in Chittagong, England will take on Fiji. The on-field umpires for this match will be Ahsan Raza and Mick Martell with Devdas Govindjee as the match referee.

Adrian Griffith, ICC’s Senior Manager – Umpires and Referees, said: “The panel for this tournament represents an outstanding cross-section of international officials who are among the most experienced currently standing in international cricket. The players will benefit from the calibre of the match officials, with the game’s best young talent exposed to umpiring and refereeing of a high international standard.”

For all matches, two on-field umpires and a reserve official will be appointed, while for televised matches a TV umpire will also form part of the playing control team. In some of the first round matches, the fourth official will be a local appointment.

The 11th edition of the tournament will be held across eight venues in four Bangladesh cities from January 27 to February 14 2016, and will feature nine Test-playing countries as well as seven Associate and Affiliate members, namely Afghanistan, Canada, Fiji, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal and Scot- land.

The warm-up matches will be played from January 22 to 25.

The tournament will open with the match between defending champions South Africa and host nation Bangladesh at the Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (ZACS) in Chittagong and will culminate with the final at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur.

All matches will be day fixtures and will start at 9am local time. The Super League semi-finals and final will have reserve days.

For the first time in the history of this competition, ICC will produce live broadcast coverage of an unprecedented 20 matches.

The matches, which will be shown around the world by ICC broadcast partner Star Sports and its licencees, include four from Chittagong, nine from Mirpur and seven from Fatullah. – ICC.

Share This: