President convenes extraordinary indaba

09 Dec, 2014 - 05:12 0 Views
President convenes extraordinary indaba President Mugabe

The Herald

President Mugabe

President Mugabe

Tendai Mugabe Senior Reporter
President Mugabe has called for an extra-ordinary session of the Zanu-PF Central Committee tomorrow where he is likely to announce his deputies and the party’s national chairman. The President, who is also the Zanu-PF First Secretary, is also expected to name new members of the Politburo. Biggest losers from the new line up are Vice President Joice Mujuru and her cabal of the outgoing secretary for administration Cde Didymus Mutasa, Cde Nicholas Goche and Cde Webster Shamu who are effectively out of the Presidium matrix after they failed to secure Central Committee positions in their respective provinces.

VP Mujuru and her sidekicks were implicated as kingpins in a nefarious plot to assassinate President Mugabe.

As for the outgoing VP, she was not only rejected in Mashonaland Central province but even her district of origin, Mount Darwin cast her off.

Other Politburo members who face an uncertain future are Cdes Tendai Savanhu, Francis Nhema, Olivia Muchena and Flora Buka.

In a statement yesterday, the Zanu-PF department of administration said: “The President and First Secretary of Zanu-PF, Cde R.G. Mugabe is pleased to call an extra-ordinary session of the Central Committee to be held at Zanu-PF headquarters on Wednesday 10 December 2014 at 1000hrs.”

Closing the 6th Zanu-PF National People’s Congress over the weekend, President Mugabe indicated that he would announce members of the Politburo either on Wednesday or Thursday this week after studying the lists of the new Central Committee members.

Section 40 of the Zanu-PF constitution as amended empowers the First Secretary and President to — during the sitting of Congress — appoint Politburo members from the newly-elected Central Committee.

Outgoing secretary for legal affairs Cde Emerson Mnangagwa on Saturday said President Mugabe was within his constitutional rights to make his appointments later this week.

He said Section 37 of Zanu-PF’s constitution (Powers and Functions of the Central Committee) allowed the President to announce a new Politburo when the Central Committee met as it is the highest organ of the party in between congresses and acts on behalf of congress when it is not in session.

Some senior Zanu-PF members who were put on ice due to factionalism such as Cdes July Moyo (Midlands) and Mike Madiro (Manicaland) bounced back into the Central Committee making them eligible for consideration for appointment in the Politburo.

President Mugabe also appointed Cdes Supa Mandiwanzira, Pupurai Togarepi, Walter Mzembi, Aguy Georgias, Mudhomeni Chivende, Absolom Sikhosana, Simbarashe Mumbengegwi, Josephine Gandiya, Sikhanyiso Ndlovu and Charles Tawenga into the Central Committee under the quota of Presidential appointees.

Share This:

Sponsored Links