Politburo bars no confidence vote officials

04 Apr, 2015 - 00:04 0 Views
Politburo bars no  confidence vote officials Cde Khaya Moyo

The Herald

Simon KhayaFarirai Machivenyika Senior Reporter
The Politburo has upheld the vote of no confidence passed on several party leaders in the run up to the 6th National People’s Congress held last year and prohibited them from holding leadership positions in Zanu-PF for this year and next year.

Zanu-PF Secretary for Information and Publicity Cde Simon Khaya Moyo made the announcement at a press conference soon after the Politburo meeting held on Thursday.

“The Politburo received a comprehensive and detailed report from the National Disciplinary Committee with votes of no confidence by various structures of the party on party members on various levels of seniority, in particular votes of no confidence were received from the Women’s League National Executive, Youth League, National Executive, South Africa District and the country’s 10 provinces,” he said.

“Some of the votes of no confidence were passed before congress and some were being concluded as I speak. The Politburo noted that most cases of votes of no confidence were concluded in 2014 and that the affected members were served with letters informing them with the conclusion of their cases and their removal from the positions they held.

“However, the Politburo noted the affected members were not informed whether they are prohibited from holding any positions in the party and if so for how long. In light of that fact, the Politburo has resolved as follows: to uphold all the VOC(s) that were received, two, to direct that all the members that were affected by the VOC(s) are prohibited from holding any leadership position in any organ of the party for a period of two years reckoned from January 1 2015.

“All the affected members will receive individual letters advising of the same.”

A number of Zanu-PF leaders received votes of no confidence in the run up to the 6th National People’s Congress last year after they were accused of being part of the Mrs Joice Mujuru led cabal that plotted to illegally remove President Mugabe from power.

Nine provincial executive committees had votes of no confidence passed in them.

Some of the notable provincial leaders that had votes of no confidence passed in them include Mashonaland East provincial chairman Cde Ray Kaukonde, Ambassador John Mvundura (Manicaland), Cde Luke Mushore (Mashonaland Central), Brigadier General Kallisto Gwanetsa (Retired) (Masvingo), Cde Jason Machaya (Midlands), Cde Andrew Langa (Matabeleland South), Cde Callistus Ndlovu (Bulawayo), Amos Midzi (Harare) and Mashonaland West’s Themba Mliswa who has since been fired from the party.

The provincial leaders were removed together with most members of their executives which were discovered to have been plotting to remove President Mugabe at congress and usher in Mrs Mujuru as the leader of the party.

The Women’s League and the Youth League also passed a vote of no confidence in a number of their members in the period leading to the 6th National People’s Congress.

Share This:

Sponsored Links