Permanent secretaries reassigned

PERMSECFelex Share Herald Reporter—-
PRESIDENT Mugabe has appointed and reassigned 24 permanent secretaries to match the reorganisation and reconfiguration of Government ministries in the wake of the swearing in of Cabinet ministers recently.The new Cabinet, dubbed Team Zanu-PF, has 26 ministers and 24 portfolios.

The move saw 23 officials being retained as permanent secretaries, with a few being reassigned.
Chief secretary to the President and Cabinet Dr Misheck Sibanda said in a statement yesterday that the appointments were made in terms of Section 205 (1) of the Constitution.

He said the new appointments were on performance contracts.

“In terms of the new Constitution, permanent secretaries are appointed on performance contracts and their reappointment is dependent upon good performance in line with the results-based management system which is now guiding the operations of the new Government.
“Those former permanent secretaries whose names are not on the list of those appointed are advised to immediately contact the chairman of the Civil Service Commission,” Dr Sibanda said.

Dr Thokozile Chitepo, who was a principal director in the then Ministry of Youth Development, Indigenisation and Economic Empowerment, has been appointed permanent secretary in the Ministry of Sport, Arts and Culture.

Those retained are Mr George Charamba (Information, Media and Broadcasting Services), Dr Washington Mbizvo (Higher and Tertiary Education), Mr Melusi Matshiya (Home Affairs), Mrs Abigail Shonhiwa (Industry and Commerce), Mrs Sophia Tsvakwi (Lands and Rural Resettlement), Mr Willard Manungo (Finance), Ambassador Joey Bimha (Foreign Affairs), Dr Gerald Gwinji (Health and Child Welfare), Mr Martin Rushwaya (Defence), Mrs Eveline Ndlovu (Small, Medium Enterprises and Co-operative Development), Mr Partson Mbiriri (Energy and Power Development), Mr Munesu Munodawafa (Transport and Infrastructural Development), Engineer Samuel Kundishora (Information Communication Technology, Postal and Courier Services), and Mr Killian Mupingo (Local Government, Public Works and National Housing).

Mrs Virginia Mabhiza previously with the Constitutional and Parliamentary Affairs ministry is now permanent secretary in the Ministry of Justice and Parliamentary Affairs.

Mrs Constance Chigwamba moves from the Ministry of Education, Sport, Arts and Culture to that of Primary and Secondary Education.
Mr Ngoni Masoka has been moved to the Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare Ministry from the then Ministry of Agriculture, Mechanisation and Irrigation Development.

He was replaced by Mr Ringson Chitsiko who is coming from the then Ministry of Water Resources Development and Management.
Dr Perpetua Gumbo, who was permanent secretary in the Office of the President and Cabinet, is now in the Ministry of Women’s Affairs, Gender and Community Development.

The Youth, Indigenisation and Economic Development permanent secretary is Mr George Magosvongwe who was in the same ministry when it was the Ministry of Youth Development, Indigenisation and Economic Empowerment.

The new Tourism and Hospitality Industry permanent secretary is Ms Florence Nhekairo, who was in the Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources.

She takes over from Mrs Margaret Sangarwe who has been dropped.
Mr Prince Mupazviriho has been moved from the Mines and Mining Development Ministry to Environment, Water and Climate.

He was replaced by Professor Francis Gudyanga who was in the then Ministry of Science and Technology Development.
Those dropped include Mr David Munyoro (National Housing and Social Amenities), Labour and Social Services secretary Mr Lancaster Museka, Engineer George Mlilo (National Housing), Mr Tedious Chifamba (Regional Integration and International Co-operation), Mr Elias Mutowo (State Enterprises and Parastatals).

Others are Dr Sylvia Utete-Masango (Women Affairs, Gender and Community Development), Mr David Mangota (Justice and Legal Affairs) who was appointed High Court judge last December and Dr Desire Sibanda (Economic Planning and Investment Promotion).

You Might Also Like


Take a survey

We value your opinion! Take a moment to complete our survey