New NAC, Forestry boards appointed

07 Nov, 2014 - 00:11 0 Views
New NAC, Forestry boards appointed Minister Zhuwao

The Herald

Patrick Zhuwao

Patrick Zhuwao

Ruth Chipayi Herald reporter
Health and Child Care Minister Dr David Parirenyatwa has appointed a nine-member board for the National Aids Council chaired by the director of Compre Health Services Dr Evaristo Marowa.

Dr Marowa will be deputised by journalist Beatrice Tonhodzayi-Ngondo.

“We have been saying the number of new HIV infections has declined and because of the high population on ARVs we must see the end of Aids,” said Dr Parirenyatwa, while addressing the new board members.

“We know the end of Aids is near because people are not dying like they used to back in the days, so your task is to look on how further you can kill Aids.”

More than 1,2 million adults and children were last year said to be living with HIV and Aids, while an estimated 657 000 were on Antiretroviral Therapy.

The Matabeleland region, which includes Bulawayo, has the highest HIV and Aids prevalence rate in the country compared to other provinces.

Matabeleland South and Matabeleland North have 21 percent prevalence rate, Bulawayo 19 percent, Harare 13 percent, while Mashonaland Central, Manicaland and Masvingo have 14 percent each.

Dr Parirenyatwa dismissed claims that he dissolved the outgoing board, saying its term had come to an end.

“We always want to bring in new perspectives into how we look into issues, particularly the issues if HIV and Aids,” he said. “So, we had to bring in new people in order to share different minds, and I want to make it clear that we did not disagree with the previous board.”

Of the nine-member board, only three were retained and these are Tonhodzayi-Ngondo, Mr Golden Guni and Ms Shylet Ndiweni. Other board members include Dr Josiah Tayi, Mrs Naume Mazango, Mrs Virginia Samukange, Pastor Brian Tanyanyiwa Chinyerere and Mr Togarepi Chagwiza.

Meanwhile, Environment, Water and Climate Minister Saviour Kasukuwere appointed a new board for the Forestry Commission yesterday which will be chaired by Zanu-PF Politburo member Cde Patrick Zhuwawo.

The board was tasked to guide the parastatal in delivering its mandate in terms of its strategic plan and in relation to the Government’s economic blueprint, Zim-Asset.

Minister Kasukuwere said the challenges facing the board needed visionary and competent members.

“As we strive to transform the organisation, you should bear in mind other laws and policies of the country such as the Indigenisation and Economic Empowerment Policy,” he said. “It is my hope that you actively engage locals in your forestry programmes.”

Other board members are Ms Margaret Sangarwe, Mr Winston Chitando, Mr George Nhamo Pangeti, Dr Thomas Phenias Zuza Mpofu, Ms Rose Mukogo and Mr Obert Sibanda.

Share This:

Sponsored Links