New board  for Zimsec

zimsecresults7febTafadzwa Ndlovu Herald Reporter
Government has appointed a 10-member board for the Zimbabwe School Examinations Council on a three-year term. University of Zimbabwe Vice Chancellor Professor Levi Nyagura will chair the board, replacing Prof Norman Maphosa. He will be deputised by Prof Rungano Zvobgo, the Vice Chancellor of Great Zimbabwe University.
Other board members are Mr Andrew Sibanda (National University of Science and Technology), Dr Cuthbert Katsvanga (Bindura University of Science Education), Mr Edgar Moyo (teacher), Mrs Petronella Takawadiyi (lawyer), Mr Samson Magumisi (industry), Mrs Florence Mokwena (people with disabilities) and Mr Walter Mufuka (former teacher).

Mr George Atkinson and Mrs Mirriam Matinenga complete the board.

Primary and Secondary Education Minister Lazarus Dokora said, “We need to prepare our people for more fundamental changes of the education sector.

“We have had in our country the advantage of freedom since 1980.

“We have celebrated that freedom by pointing out that the Americans love their country and learn about their country and we said the same about the British, but we took so much time talking about that instead of actually learning about our country.”

Prof Nyagura said universities and colleges worldwide accepted Zimsec qualifications but this could change if the examinations board continued to be rocked by scandals.

You Might Also Like