Mutsvangwa elected

27 Sep, 2013 - 02:09 0 Views

The Herald

Herald Reporter
The Women Parliamentary Caucus yesterday elected Senator Monica Mutsvangwa as their chairperson.
She replaces Goromonzi West Member of National Assembly Cde Beata Nyamupinga who has been at the helm for the past four years. Sen Mutsvangwa beat Sen Constance Tsomondo-Shamu to land the top post for women parliamentarians. The election was presided over by deputy chief whips of the Upper and Lower Houses Cde Tambudzani Mohadi and Cde Mandi Chimene respectively.

Sen Mutsvangwa romped to victory with 46 votes against Sen Tsomondo-Shamu’s 23 votes in elections in which Acting President Mujuru also took part. Cde Chimene confirmed the result yesterday.

“Yes, the election went on well. Everyone was satisfied with the process. It was conducted through a secret ballot system,” said Cde Chimene.
Sen Mutsvangwa said she owed her victory to Zanu-PF which commanded majority in Parliament. She said her immediate task was to constitute a management committee to come up with a work plan.

Share This:

Sponsored Links