Mbondo, Mawire win JR Mawere chess tournament The three-day tournament saw 280 pupils taking to the chess board and it was Mashonaland East Province thatt came out victorious. 

Takudzwa Chitsiga-Sports Reporter

DONALD Mbondo and Rumbidzai Mawire were crowned the inaugural JR Mawere individual schools chess tournament winners at Kwekwe High at the weekend.

The tournament, which was held in honour of the late Kwekwe mayor and town clerk Johnstone Rex Mawere, saw over 350 players taking part in the two-day tournament. 

JR Mawere Individual Schools Chess Tournament was organised by seasoned chess administrators Itayi Madicha who was the chief organiser, Blessing Jemani as the tournament director, and Lawrence Tavagwisa the tournament marketing director. 

It was Mbondo and Mawire, who were outstanding in the under-20 categories as the former defeated Rugare Chiduku in the final while Lawrence Mupoperi was third. 

Mawire, a Dominican Convent pupil, was outstanding as she defeated Linet Gonga to second place with Herzel Kachikwa third. 

The tournament targeted juniors from the age of eight up to 20 years and, as a first edition, it received so much sup-port from both government and private schools. 

Tavagwisa said they were happy with the way the tournament went and are looking forward to hold it every year.

“We are happy to have managed to host the first edition of the JR Mawere Schools Individual Chess Tournament which went on very well. We had some good numbers in all age groups and over 350 students turned up which showed so much support for the sport. 

“The idea is to promote the sport and also remember an icon who was willing to give back to the community. The win-ners walked away with a lot of prizes to be won with gold, silver, and bronze for the top three finalists in each category, both for boys and girls. “All podium finishers got certificates with their positions while the rest of the participants were awarded with certificates of participation,” said Tavagwisa.

JR Mawere Chess Results

Under-8 Boys: Makhurane Shayne, Mashawa Dylan, Takavarinda Dean

Under-8 Girls: Taropafadzwa Gawu, Sharnelle Shiri, Salom Mugari

Under-10 Boys: Emmanuel Mhiti, Taonanyasha Chimboza, Joshua Takavarinda

Under-10 Girls: Deltrice Zhou, Nyasha Nechitima, Tadiwanashe Zhou

Under-12 Boys: Sartiel Tekede, Anesu Tizora, Jethro Mtanda

Under-12 Girls: Tinevimbo Chimboza, Proud Magorosi, Patience Magorosi

Under-14 Boys: Tatenda Machona, Nenyasha Muguri, Collins Nyaya

Under-14 Girls: Crystal Chaitezvi, Mellina Mapfumo, Nadia Mupetura

Under-16 Boys: Allen Tungamira, Fortune Nyati, Arnold Marima

Under-16 Girls: Zvikomborero Matinha, Melisa Kambezo, Genevieve Moyo

Under-18 Boys: Ashley Takura, Eliezer Chisango, Kelvin Mvukuto

Under-18 Girls: Maita Mangwende, Neema Mugura, Ropafadzo Gwatidzo

Under-20 Boys: Donald Mbondo, Rugare Chiduku, Lawrence Mupoperi

Under-20 Girls: Rumbidzai Mawire, Linet Gonga, Herzel Kachikwa;

You Might Also Like