FLORIDA. – The Inter-collegiate Tennis Association of the United States announced on Tuesday that Florida State University’s junior Benjamin Lock of Zimbabwe and associate coach Nick Crowell were honoured with regional awards as voted on by the region’s head coaches.

Lock was named the South-east Region Arthur Ashe Sportsmanship and Leadership Award winner, while Crowell was named the region’s assistant coach of the Year.

Lock played No. 1 singles and doubles for Florida State University (the Seminoles) this season, reaching a career-high No. 44 in singles and No. 13 in doubles with fellow junior Marco Nunez. Lock will play in both the singles and doubles draws at the National Championships next week in Waco, Texas.

Off the court, Lock has participated in philanthropic efforts in Tallahassee, working with the Special Olympics during the season and at last month’s Tallahassee Challenger, and in Africa, working with underprivileged children in his native Zimbabwe when representing Team Zimbabwe at the Davis Cup in March.

“I’m honoured to have won this prestigious award,” Lock said.

“It’s a nice complement from the other coaches and one of the characteristics that you want to be recognised for as a student-athlete.”

Lock follows Mat Cloer (2005) and Vahid Mirzadeh (2011) as Seminoles to have won the award. Cloer and Mirzadeh both also won the national award, presented at the National Championships to one of the 12 regional winners.

Crowell was named regional assistant coach of the year for the third time and is the fifth time a Seminole has won the award. Crowell was an All-American in singles and doubles at Texas (1997-2000) and has been working under head coach Dwayne Hultquist since 2004.

This season, Crowell helped lead Lock into his role atop the Seminoles line-up, and worked with the doubles pairs, including Lock and Nunez and true freshmen Terrance and Terrell Whitehurst.

Combined, the two teams went 32-15 in doubles play on the season.

“I’m excited to win and be recognised,” Crowell said.

“It’s a total team effort award and it wouldn’t be possible without the hard work of the guys on this team and their accomplishments throughout the year.”

Crowell previously won the award in 2006 (Mid-east) and 2013 (Southeast), while former coaches Ty Braswell (2003, Mid-east) and Mat Cloer (2010, South-east) have also won the award. Crowell also is one of 12 finalists for the national award. – Seminoles.com.

You Might Also Like