LATEST: Pasuwa unveils Warriors squad

LATEST: Pasuwa unveils Warriors squad Callisto Pasuwa

Sports Reporter
ZIMBABWE national soccer team head coach Callisto Pasuwa has unveiled his travelling squad of 23 players led by CAPS United’s Hardlife Zvirekwi for this year’s Africa Nations Championships to be held in Rwanda.Pasuwa, who had a difficult decision to drop four players following a spate of injuries that left his training squad depleted, made few surprises after dropping Harare City’s Talent Chawapihwa, FC Platinum striker Brian Muzondiwa, George Majika of Chicken Inn and Dynamos newboy, Tichaona Chipunza.

Harare City have provided the bulk of the players after the coach gave the thumbs up to striker Francisco Zekumbawira, William Manondo and the quartet of new signings – Ronald Chitiyo, Farai Madhananga, Blessing Moyo and Raphael Manuvire.

Champions Chicken Inn and Dynamos have four players each in the squad with the Gamecocks’ latest acquisition Moses Demera also getting a place.

There were also places too for Rodreck Mutuma, Joel Ngodzo, Edmore Chirambadare, Elisha Muroiwa, Stephen Makatuka, Bruce Kangwa, Ocean Mushure and Gerald Takwara.

Zvirekwi is the only survivor from the group that played at the last edition in South Africa when Zimbabwe finished fourth. The Warriors are scheduled to leave on Saturday morning. They are in Group D alongside Zambia, Uganda and Rwanda.


Warriors squad


Elvis Chipezeze (Chicken Inn), Tatenda Mukuruva (Dynamos), Donovan Bernard (How Mine)


Stephen Makatuka (CAPS United), Blessing Moyo (Harare City), Bruce Kangwa (Highlanders), Ocean Mushure (Dynamos), Elisha Muroiwa (Dynamos), Lawrence Mhlanga (Chicken Inn), Hardlife Zvirekwi (CAPS United), Farai Madhananga (Harare City)


Nqobizitha Masuku (FC Platinum), Ronald Chitiyo (Harare City), Raphael Manuvire (Harare City), Marshall Mudehwe (FC Platinum), William Manondo (Harare City FC), Gerald Takwara (FC Platinum), Joel Ngodzo (CAPS United FC)


Rodreck Mutuma (Dynamos), Edmore Chirambadare (Chicken Inn), Francisco Zekumbawira (Harare City FC), Knox Mtizwa (Highlanders FC), Moses Demera (Chicken Inn).


Share This: