Junior council takes office

06 Aug, 2014 - 00:08 0 Views

The Herald

Ebenezer Nobela Cool Writer
The Harare City Junior Council was inaugurated last Friday. The inauguration was held at Town House premises with 82 junior councillors drawn from 34 schools around the capital. The event was graced by Harare Mayor Cllr Bernard Manyenyeni. Speaking to the junior councillors the mayor pointed out that the senior council was compelled to restore and strengthen its relationship with the junior council.

The ceremony witnessed the swearing in of the 2014-15 junior council executive committee which is made up of the junior mayor, his deputy, town clerk, treasurer, projects coordinator, chamber secretary and the public relations officer.

In his acceptance speech, the newly elected Junior Mayor Ebenezer Nobela of Churchill Boys High said: “Our mission as councillors is not to follow the footsteps of the Junior Councillors before us, but rather to exceed their footsteps and to go further than what they had achieved.”

The vision which will guide the 2014-15 junior council will be “Let’s us set aside our differences, unite and work towards exceeding the milestones of excellence.”

Soon after the inauguration, parents were served with some refreshments as the Junior Mayor left Town House in style using the official Mayoral Mercedes Benz pledged by Mayor Manyenyeni and this was the first gesture to restore the relationship between the junior and the senior council.
The Junior Councillors were this year divided into five committee focusing on:
Adolescence reproductive and sexual health;
Traffic safety;
Mentorship and child development;
Teenage behavioural change and Charity.
Executive committee
Ebenezer Nobela – Junior Mayor (Churchill Boys High).
Hlonipiso Matambo – Junior Deputy Mayor (Dominican Convent).
Marshall Mugwagwa – Junior Town Clerk (Glen Norah High).
Ryan Vutata – Public Relations Officer (Eaglesvale High).
Clinton Chareka – Treasurer (Oriel Boys High).
Tinotenda Zhakata – Projects Coordinator (Christ Ministries).
Mongiwa Dube – Chamber Secretary (Roosevelt Girls).
Chairpersons of committees
Zvipo Chisango – (Mentorship and Child Development) Arundel Girls.
Rumbidzai Mawire – (Traffic Safety)Chisipite.
Chido Chidziva – (Teenage Behavioural Change) Budiriro High.
Tendai Madzinga – (Charity) Maranatha High.
Kudakwashe Mandiyanike – (Adolescence Reproductive and Sexual Health) Dominican Convent

Share This:

Sponsored Links