India’s Modi to be sworn in as PM

India’s Modi to be sworn in as PM

Narendra Modi

NEW DELHI. — Narendra Modi, who led BJP to an astounding victory in the parliamentary (Lok Sabha) polls, will be sworn in as the prime minister today in the forecourt of the majestic Rashtrapati Bhawan in Delhi.The ceremony will have a number of foreign dignitaries in attendance including SAARC leaders.

The swearing-in ceremony of the 15th prime minister of India will be attended by nearly 3 000 guests, including leaders like Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

President Pranab Mukherjee will administer the oath of office and secrecy to 63-year-old Narendra Modi and his Council of Ministers in the presence of a host of leaders, including outgoing Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress President Sonia Gandhi and party vice president Rahul Gandhi, besides leaders of various other parties and chief ministers of a number of states.

Besides Mr Sharif and Mr Rajapaksa, Afghanistan President Hamid Karzai, Bhutan Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay, Nepal Prime Minister Sushil Koirala and Maldivian President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom will be among the foreign dignitaries attending the ceremony. — NDTV.

Share This: