Harare Province defies Politburo directive

Harare Province defies Politburo directive

Cde Savanhu

Herald Reporter
Zanu-PF officials in Harare have reportedly defied a Politburo directive not to suspend members as it emerged yesterday that at least 25 people from several districts were booted out recently on factional grounds ahead of the December National People’s Congress.The officials have been served with suspension letters over “frivolous and unsubstantiated” allegations among them sodomy and theft.

Some of the suspensions should have been lifted by now because they were effected as far back as 2012, but they are being maintained to settle factional scores.

Zanu-PF officials who spoke to The Herald on condition of anonymity for fear of victimisation, said the party’s provincial chairman Cde Amos Midzi and Politburo member Cde Tendai Savanhu, were behind the suspensions.


Some of the party members who were suspended on September 20 include Cdes Andrew Chamunorwa and Kudakwashe Nyekete of Mbare 6A district.

Allegations laid against Cde Nyekete, who is the Mbare 6A district secretary for legal affairs, are that he failed to respect Cde Savanhu during a meeting in Mbare and that he made sensational claims that another party official Cde Gift Mutengedzanwa was sodomising some youths.

Cde Nyekete was also accused of alleging that Cde Savanhu was having a gay affair with Cde Mutengedzanwa.

“The Disciplinary Committee sat on September 2014 at Mbare 6A district office to hear the charges levelled against you,” reads part of the letter written by a member of the disciplinary committee identified as Cde Pasina.

“However, together with Cde Chamunorwa you did not show up for the hearing despite having been served with your prohibition order and notice of charges stating the date of the hearing.

“To show that you were aware of the hearing you were seen around the office drinking beer claiming that you had taken the letter to the State House.

“Therefore the Disciplinary Committee was left with no choice but to pass a default judgment.”

Cde Chamunorwa was accused of bringing the name of the party into disrepute after he allegedly sold party property that included a shovel and a dish worth $20.

He was further charged with insubordination after he allegedly stood up during Cde Savanhu’s address during a meeting in Mbare and insulted Cde Mutengedzanwa.

“The disciplinary committee notes that the party has procedures to follow if one has grievances, therefore, Cde Chamunorwa you have been found guilty of contravening Article 3 Section 18(2), which states that every member of the party shall have the duty to observe and resort to the policies and regulations of the party,” reads part of the letter served to Cde Chamunorwa.

Another party member who was suspended as far back as 2012 is Cde Berita Mandende, who was accused of lying that she would no longer participate in Mbare Chimurenga Choir until the MP intervened while Cde Susan Mapolisa was suspended for allegedly claiming that she taught Cde Savanhu the party slogan.

A zanu-pf member in Harare who spoke to The Herald said the massive suspensions were aimed at ensuring that those who were not aligned to Cde Midzi do not attend the December Congress.

“There is no sincerity in these suspensions apart from fixing some people who are perceived not to be loyal to Cde Midzi,” said the official.
“What is the rationale of kicking out people from the party towards a crucial congress?”

Contacted for comment Cde Midzi referred all questions to his deputy, Cde Christopher Chigumba, whom he said was the chairperson of the disciplinary committee in Harare.

“Talk to Chigumba about those issues, he is the one who chairs the disciplinary committee.”

However, Comrades Chigumba and Savanhu could not be reached for comment on their phones yesterday.

Other party members who were suspended included Comrades Loice Muchena, Memory Marunza, Oliver Madyambudzi, Virginia Chiripanyanga, Jack Magina, Nyasha Chida, Jesman Kadzirange, Majory Mutopo, Tarisai Chekure, Shupikai John, Eunice Marozhe, Blessing Chegurei, Vongai Mukamwi, Esnath Chimbare, Jaison Charuma, Grace Chabuka, L. Muzondo, Jane Masanga, Joshua Gore, Tawanda Mhishi, Polity Motsi, Siphela Ncube and Tsitsi Chifeya.

Share This: