Govt renames all army barracks Dr Sekeramayi
Dr Sekeramayi

Dr Sekeramayi

Herald Reporter—
Government has renamed all army barracks after the country’s national heroes. The new names were announced by Defence Minister Sydney Sekeramayi in Statutory Instrument 138 of 2017 published in the Government Gazette yesterday. The changes were made in line with Section 89 of the Defence Act (Chapter: 02). King George VI Barracks and Air Force Headquarters is now known as the Josiah Magama Tongogara Barracks while the Brady Barracks in Bulawayo is now called Mzilikazi Barrakcs.

Cranborne cantonment and old Cranborne cantonment are now known as Charles Gumbo and Kaguvi Barracks respectively. Karuyana Barracks has changed to Chitekedza Barracks and 3 Brigade has been renamed to Herbert Chitepo Barracks.

Chipinga cantonment is now known as William Ndangana Barracks while 4 Brigade Barracks has changed to Gava Musungwa Zvinavashe Barracks. Second Battalion has changed to Masvingo Barracks and Gutu Barracks is now referred to as Chinomukutu Barracks.

Andrew Louw School is now called Sengwe Barracks while Stamford Dzivarasekwa has been renamed Dzivarasekwa Barracks. Inkomo Camp has changed to Inkomo Barracks and Llewellin Barracks is now called Lookout Masuku Barracks. The Zimbabwe Military Academy in Gweru has been renamed Solomon Mujuru Barracks while the Umtali cantonment is now known as the Charles Dauramanzi Barracks.

Inkomo Camp (Mounted regiment) is now called Amoth Norbert Chingombe Barracks and Battalion Battle School Headquarters and Battalion Battle Training Area are now called the Rekayi Tangwena Barracks. Flyde Air Force Base is now called Jason Ziyapapa Moyo Air Force Base while the Royal Rhodesian Thornhill Air Force Base has changed to Josiah Tungamirai Air Force Base.

You Might Also Like


Take a survey

We value your opinion! Take a moment to complete our survey