Golf team for Region Five tourney named

07 Apr, 2017 - 01:04 0 Views

The Herald

Takudzwa Chitsiga Sports reporter
THE Zimbabwe Golf Association have named the team for this year’s Region Five tournament, formerly the Zone VI championships, to be held in Kitwe, Zambia, from Thursday to Sunday next week. The team comprises the top eight leading amateurs and will be captained by Liberty Gumisa, with two players making their debut appearance at the bi-annual tournament.

Tatenda Makunde and Rasheed Mahomed will be making their debut appearance at the tournament, where they will have several seasoned players like David Amm, Never Milazi, Tonderai Masunga, Tafara Mpofu and Bekithemba Ndlovu.

The ZGA will this morning stage a send-off ceremony for the team at Chapman. Zimbabwe will be looking forward to end South Africa’s dominance in this event, which they have won 18 times since 1995.

Meanwhile, the Zimbabwe women golf team is in Maseru, Lesotho, for the annual Regional All Africa Challenge Trophy which begun on Tuesday. The team is made up of seasoned campaigners, who have already won in national colours and made several appearances at the tournament.

Boasting of seniors Batsirai Tilowakuti and Yollanda Mubaiwa, the team came fourth in the last outing and are looking forward to improve this year.

Also expected to feature prominently will be juniors Danielle Bekker and Emily Jones, who missed out at the World Junior Golf Championships last week.

Zimbabwe Ladies Golf Union president Caroline Mutsambiwa believes the team will do well this time around.

“The junior golfers played their best golf and came out second to South Africa. I am happy with the talent that these young girls have.

“Our future is definitely bright as the exposure they are getting will strengthen them even more. RAACT Lesotho is our biggest tournament on the calendar and we look forward to a challenging tournament,” said Mutsambiwa

Sixteen nations, including hosts Lesotho, Kenya, Botswana, Cameroon, Egypt, Gabon, Ghana, Malawi, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe, are taking part in this tournament.

Zimbabwe Amateur Team

Liberty Gumisa (Captain), David Amm, Never Milazi, Tonderai Masunga, Tafara Mpofu, Tatenda Makunde, Rasheed Mohamed and Bekithemba Ndlovu.

Roger Baylis — Team Coach

Boniface Chigorimbo — Team Manager

Share This:

Sponsored Links